That "Funny Feeling"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• That "Funny Feeling"

So, YEARS ago, when I was a cop, I met a gal in Baltimore MD (I had briefly worked there many years ago, and had gone back to visit a friend, and met this gal).

When I got back to Texas, we maintained a long distance relationship until I got my first phone bill. (Al Gore had not yet invented the internet)

In one of our nearly all night phone conversations, she expressed concern about my safety as a police officer, and would frequently mention "a fancy red sports car with a classy lady", sometimes joking that I would "run off with that lady" and sometimes just saying something like "it keeps coming to my mind". When we would hang up, she sometimes added, "watch out for that classy lady in that red sports car".

SO, one night, on routine patrol, about 3 AM, I found a car driving exactly the speed limit out on the edge of town. (OK, not much going on at 3 AM, so people are usually zipping here or there, and when somebody is going exactly the speed limit, it's almost like they're "not wanting to get caught".)

Even back then, you couldn't stop a car "just because", but needed some "probable cause". The vehicle's license plate light was out -- sufficient cause to stop and question.

I pulled close enough to get license plate info, and radio that in, then "popped the lights" to pull the vehicle over. It seemed to take an inordinate amount of time to get the driver's attention, even waving my spotlight over the back window, "take down" lights flashing brightly. Continuing at "exactly the right speed", experience tells you the driver is probably hiding something, or needing some extra time to "clear the air" (marijuana smoke or whatever), but I finally saw brake lights, and the vehicle pulled over under an overpass near some heavy construction equipment.