Announcement

Collapse

Civics 101 Guidelines

Want to argue about politics? Healthcare reform? Taxes? Governments? You've come to the right place!

Try to keep it civil though. The rules still apply here.
See more
See less

What Do We Do about the Biased and Incompetent FBI?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What Do We Do about the Biased and Incompetent FBI?

What Do We Do about the Biased and Incompetent FBI?

First of all, lemme say that I don't think it's the rank and file - I think we have a leadership problem. I'm still involved in a number of areas of law enforcement, and often have coffee with our local FBI folks. They're as frustrated with the direction of the FBI 'as an institution' as I am. They think the institution has lost its way.

In the old days (I was a cop some 40 years ago) we always enjoyed going to the FBI seminars when they were available in our area, and we knew we were hearing from the best and the brightest professionals. When we formed a multijurisdictional task force for any purpose, the FBI component was top notch.

It amazes me that the FBI has not set up a division to deal exclusively with school shootings, complete with a toll-free hotline and a network of agents to aggressively work those tips. (the local agents I know assure me, to their chagrin, that this has not happened)

Anyway, the article, in part....

It's bad enough for a law enforcement agency to be biased. It's even worse for it to be biased and incompetent.

But the latter seems to be an apt characterization of our Federal Bureau of Investigation in the wake of the killings in Parkland, Florida, where, by their own admission, the organization overlooked warnings about the killer that could have saved seventeen students and teachers from mass murder. This is no mere bureaucratic slip-up and the demand by Governor Scott for the resignation of FBI Director Wray is understandable considering the number of dead children in his state.