Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Ethernet to Wifi?

  1. #21
    Troll Magnet Sparko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Faith
    Christian
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    49,946
    Amen (Given)
    4999
    Amen (Received)
    22193
    Quote Originally Posted by QuantaFille View Post
    I've never heard of a router without an Ethernet port. Is this some newfangled configuration?
    Nor of anyone putting the modem/router in the ceiling.

  2. Amen NorrinRadd amen'd this post.
  3. #22
    See, the Thing is... Cow Poke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    The Republic of Texas
    Faith
    Christian
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    56,548
    Amen (Given)
    12287
    Amen (Received)
    26290
    Quote Originally Posted by QuantaFille View Post
    I've never heard of a router without an Ethernet port. Is this some newfangled configuration?
    Most cable modems or routers have 4 ports for local internet and one for your incoming broadband. There are some that do NOT have ethernet ports, if they are intended for wifi only, but those are usually commercial or proprietary.
    Every problem is the result of a previous solution.

  4. Amen Teallaura, NorrinRadd amen'd this post.
  5. #23
    See, the Thing is... Cow Poke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    The Republic of Texas
    Faith
    Christian
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    56,548
    Amen (Given)
    12287
    Amen (Received)
    26290
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparko View Post
    Nor of anyone putting the modem/router in the ceiling.
    I've done that in commercial buildings where the ceiling is part and parcel of the return air - otherwise, it's way too hot and humid for electronic equipment.
    Every problem is the result of a previous solution.

  6. #24
    Troll Magnet Sparko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Faith
    Christian
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    49,946
    Amen (Given)
    4999
    Amen (Received)
    22193
    Quote Originally Posted by Cow Poke View Post
    I've done that in commercial buildings where the ceiling is part and parcel of the return air - otherwise, it's way too hot and humid for electronic equipment.
    yeah plus you need to be able to get to it to reset it once in a while. I think Teal is thinking of the cable splitter or something.

  7. #25
    tWebber Teallaura's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    In my house.
    Faith
    Christian
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    15,367
    Amen (Given)
    9675
    Amen (Received)
    5673
    Quote Originally Posted by Cow Poke View Post
    Most cable modems or routers have 4 ports for local internet and one for your incoming broadband. There are some that do NOT have ethernet ports, if they are intended for wifi only, but those are usually commercial or proprietary.
    It's the internet company's router, not mine.

    And it's not in the ceiling - but I can't have cords on the floor and the router is on the wrong side of the walkway - therefore, any cables would have to go up and over.

  8. #26
    tWebber Teallaura's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    In my house.
    Faith
    Christian
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    15,367
    Amen (Given)
    9675
    Amen (Received)
    5673
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparko View Post
    yeah plus you need to be able to get to it to reset it once in a while. I think Teal is thinking of the cable splitter or something.
    NO, she just doesn't want to trip on cords that would have to be on the floor if not run through the ceiling.

  9. #27
    See, the Thing is... Cow Poke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    The Republic of Texas
    Faith
    Christian
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    56,548
    Amen (Given)
    12287
    Amen (Received)
    26290
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparko View Post
    yeah plus you need to be able to get to it to reset it once in a while. I think Teal is thinking of the cable splitter or something.
    That's another reason why some routers/modems don't have ethernet ports --- especially if it's intended as a guest network (like hotels, convention centers, etc) they don't want anybody to be able to plug directly into it, bypassing the username/password function. And, in many of those cases, those units actually are up in the ceiling or crawl space or otherwise hidden.
    Every problem is the result of a previous solution.

  10. #28
    tWebber NorrinRadd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Wayne Township, PA
    Faith
    Full Gospel Christian
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    1,995
    Amen (Given)
    3301
    Amen (Received)
    770
    I have a lady friend who has... um... DirecTV, I think. Some company that colludes with AT&T.

    I believe her router is mounted near the ceiling in the basement. I recall being spooked by the green lights one time when I was down there.
    Geislerminian Antinomian Kenotic Charispneumaticostal Gender Mutualist-Egalitarian.

    Beige Nationalist.

    "Everybody is somebody's heretic."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •