Announcement

Collapse

Civics 101 Guidelines

Want to argue about politics? Healthcare reform? Taxes? Governments? You've come to the right place!

Try to keep it civil though. The rules still apply here.
See more
See less

Coronavirus is not a bug, it's a feature!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coronavirus is not a bug, it's a feature!

(Actually, it's neither, it's a virus.)

But the downside of this bug is looking pretty sunny for me.

One of our campuses closed about an hour ago. Sometime around about next week, I'm expecting the rest of our campuses to follow suit. In the meantime, I'm doing trial runs with online office hours this weekend, preparing to move all instruction online as soon as necessary.

The software's sweet. I'm a tablet professor anyway, using local wi-fi to get to the classroom projectors, so it's just a question of getting my screen at home in front of them and providing interactivity with my students. I won't be able to see their faces, (unless they choose to share cams), but they can speak or chat at me, and the lectures can be recorded for asynchronous viewing.

I don't have to dress up. I don't have to commute.

I can live with this.

But I'm still going to miss their faces.

Feel free to share how COV-19 is affecting your lives, too.

Originally posted by Juvenal View Post
    I don't have to dress up. I don't have to commute.
    Cool, you can do it all from your mom's basement, in your mommy pants!
    Atheism is the cult of death, the death of hope. The universe is doomed, you are doomed, the only thing that remains is to await your execution...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jbnueb2OI4o&t=3s

Comment

Right now I am waiting to see if my company will start telling people to work from home. My boss sent out a notice telling us to prepare for it, making sure we have everything we need at home.